I am only one

Typhoon Haiyan has been top of the news. I had been reading the articles and trying to follow up as often as I can. At times like this, I wished I was a doctor. It would be great to be able to volunteer to help at times like this. Of course, as part relief, there is a call for financial help. A friend said a passing statement, “I wonder if the people will get the money that we donate.”

In Singapore, the scandals regarding charities that colored the eyes of Singaporeans. Shaken the good hearts to doubt. The first case was National Kidney Foundation (NKF). A good part of the donations was used to pay board members and etc. Following that incident, a lot of other scandals appeared. Charities have put their acts together, publishing their annual statements, audited by external auditors and etc. Yet, the good hearts of people are still in doubt.

Will the money get to them? Will the funds be used properly? Will the person receiving the welfare use the money well? Will that cause social issues? Donate or not? As good exist, evil exist too. This is human. That makes us human. The possibilities of questions is endless, the situations infinite. They are out of my control. But this will not be the reason why I do not donate.

To be able to share the gifts given to me (time, wealth or talent) is a joy.Whether or not the other party (or organization) abuse it, this doesn’t tarnish my joy. For at the end, the sin is theirs if they abuse it. But the joy is mine to keep. 

So GIVE.

Give because you believe in the case. In fact, I still donate to NKF. I have heard of stories of lives dependent on machine. I know what it is like dependent on others for the next meal. Most importantly, I believe that little that I give makes a difference.

Make this season a season of giving. Share your love, time and resources …
Make a pledge to help other today!

“I am only one; but still I am one. I cannot do everthing, but still I can do something; I will not refuse to do something I can do.”

― Edward Everett Hale

 

Leave a Reply

